emg emg
General Information
Home  ›  Consular Services  ›  General Information

Indian nationals intending to visit Bhutan are required to carry any of the two valid 'Travel Documents' (a) Valid Indian Passport having validity of minimum 6 months; and/or (b) Voter Identity Card, issued by the Election Commission of India. No Visa is required to visit Bhutan.

Indians coming to Bhutan by road are required to obtain an 'Entry Permit' on the basis of valid Travel Document from the Immigration Office of Royal Government of Bhutan at Phuentsholing, located on the Indo-Bhutan border opposite Jaigaon, West Bengal. In case, you are not carrying a valid travel document, you should approach the Indian Consulate Office in Phuentsholing and apply for the "Identification Slip" with proper proof of Indian nationality. Similarly, Indians coming by air must posses any one of the above mentioned Travel Document and get the Entry Permit at the Paro International Airport. The 'entry permit' allows an Indian tourist to visit Thimphu and Paro only. However, any tourist going beyond Thimphu and Paro need to acquire a 'route permit' from the RGoB Immigration Office at Thimphu on any working days (Monday to Friday)

Special Advisory:

 Indian citizens travelling to Bhutan are allowed to carry Indian currency upto the denominations of Rs. 500 only upto the limit of Rs. 25000. Over and above this amount (Rs. 25000), the denomination must be of Rs. 100 and below.  


© Embassy of India Thimphu, Bhutan 2014. All Rights Reserved.
Terms & Condition| Privacy Policy| Copy right policy| Accessibility Statement| Help|
Page last updated on:Nov 16, 2018 Visitors: 881502
Powered by: Ardhas Technology India Private Limited